An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

BLOGGERS UNITE!! February 27, 2012

Filed under: Getting to know me — charismaloy @ 1:31 pm

“Man’s mind, once stretched by a new idea, never regains its original dimensions.”Oliver Wendell Holmes US author & physician (1809 – 1894)

Give me a man or woman who has read a thousand books and you give me an interesting companion. Give me a man or woman who has read perhaps three and you give me a dangerous enemy indeed.” – Anne Rice, The Witching Hour

“The real power of books is their deep companion ability. We learn from them as we learn from the deep companion ability of love to know our own hearts and minds better.” – Jane Rule

“The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”- Dr. Seuss, “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!”

“Not all readers are leaders, but all leaders are readers.” Harry S.Truman

Truly great people have been trying to get people to understand the power of a literature for years, yet illeteracy runs rampant. Often times I find that even those who know how to read have no passion for it. I myself will read the back of the toothpaste tube if I have to be in the bathroom for any length of time.

Bloggers are, by definition, literate and tend towards the love of the written word. Obviously, if a blog is remotely successful, it’s author has some skill as a writer. I have a proposition to make. I think that as bloggers we can find a cure to to worldwide epidemic of illiteracy.

Obviously, leaving this problem to governments is entirely ineffective, so BLOGGERS UNITE!

I see many different age and comprehension levels struggling with the written word, and nobody wants to admit that they can’t read. In fact many people will try to force themselves through a book that they see as at their AGE level instead of at their READING level.

My propsal is this, lets find a way to ride age appropriate stories at various reading levels. PIck an age, literally ANY age to target, and write a story that that age might find interesting, but keep to low reading level words. Keep in mind that large books will intimidate a new reader so try to minimize excess descriptions and such at lower reading levels. We want to build a hunger for the written word, not intimidate, so doing a series may be a good idea with each book getting slightly more complex.

Please! Share some ideas! If we fail to empower those around us, we leave all power in hands that don’t know us.

 

2 Responses to “BLOGGERS UNITE!!”

  1. This is a very interesting idea. Perhaps several people could collaborate or perhaps it could be done in a series of short stories posted on a blog. Food for thought anyway.


Let me hear from you!!

