An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

ROW80 Check-in #1 April 4, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 3:45 pm

It has been a pretty good week so far. Still not sure if I am clicking all the right buttons for ROW80, but I am doing my best and that’s what counts! If my posts are not showing up in the right spots, I sure hope one of you lovely people can point me in the right direction!!Image

My life will be chaos for the next eight months or so, so I am going to set goals that I have some hope of accomplishing.

1. Write at least 1000 words per week on  WIPs

Been there, done that. Went on a writing binge at work over the last two days and cleared 1000 words between two projects. I will be working on both later this week as well, so that’s all gravy!

2. Start a Twitter account

Goal met: 4/4/2012

3. Learn how to use Twitter, Facebook and my blog to at reach at least 10 new followers.

Okay, I started on Twitter today. That’s as far as I have gotten on this one, but I am being realistic. Mondays and Tuesdays just aren’t going to be big days for me to experiment because I work 13-18 each of those days. That is what the rest of the week is for!

4. Post at least one blog that is not a ROW80 check-in

Well, I don’t know how much it counts, but I did the 11 Questions game. Tagged quite a few ROW80-ers because I figured it would be a good way to get to know each other. What can I say, it’s the teacher in me, I always want to play the getting to know you game the first day of class!

5. Learn how to use wordpress so that I can do things like add the ROW80 badge to my sidebar, or locate a blogsite that I understand how to use.

I fall back on the same reasoning that I used for goal #3.  Those of you with wordpress blogs, be prepared to get random questions as I try to understand what I am doing!! Please don’t be surprised if my blog format changes a few times as I try to figure this out!

Hmmm. I am thinking it’s a good thing that I kept my actual writing goals down to a minimum. It looks like I may be spending quite a bit of the next couple of months just trying to reach some level of competency in platform building!!

Okay folks. A little scared here. I have just heaped more on and already full plate. But then again, this is the death by chocolate portion right? That is always better than asparagus and green beans!!  Long live the Chocolate!!

 

4 Responses to “ROW80 Check-in #1”

  1. Even small steps forward are movement in the right direction. Just keep moving forward Charis, you’ll do fine. 🙂

  2. charismaloy Says:

    Hmmm, seems to me I said the same thing to my big sister a few weeks back when she was struggling!

  3. I agree with Prudence. There will be growing pains in doing anything new. It’s important to do things, even little by little, to make progress.

    Good luck with your writing goals. I hope to have a writing binge this weekend.

  4. charismaloy Says:

    I am actually very much excited by my baby steps!! Even if they are a little scary, I took them! Besides, I have all of you guys ready to help me up again if I fall on my face!


Let me hear from you!!

