An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Don’t wait for the “right” time! April 5, 2012

Filed under: Getting to know me — charismaloy @ 4:59 pm

I really want to learn how to (fill in the blank), but I am so busy.

I would rather be in jeans and a nice shirt, but everyone is wearing (insert fad here)

Okay, so we have all heard these things. Probably from our own mouths and definitely in our minds. I personally am never more self concious then when I am in a dress. I have yet to find one that I think is flattering, yet people are always wanting me to put one on for their “dress-up” event. A few years ago, I rebelled. I bought a new dress shirt, pulled out a nice pair of black jeans, spit shined my boots, chose a bolo tie and belt buckle from my collection and attended the function as myself. Now, the world may see that and label me as a butch, or any other name they want to slap on me. I never claimed that label, I only ever claimed to be me. The event was held to honor a friend and I knew that she liked me for exactly who I am. It was the last chance I would ever have to be myself for her, the event was her funeral.

The whole “I don’t have time” thing?? Let’s be honest. We don’t take time for our dreams because they often take us out of our comfort zone. The last thing I have time for right now is writing a book, much less two! However, I have a choice. I can carry the title of dreamer and bemoan my current state of life or, I can own the title of do-er and change it. Do you carry a title that weighs you down? Or do you own a title that lifts you up?

Practice being old now. Remember, life is what happens when you are busy with other things. The wisdom you want to be able to impart, the stories you want to be able to tell, the friend that you want to be, all of these things start with a choice. You must chose to learn, to change and to be the person of your dreams. Here’s some incentive:

Warning

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple

With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired

And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

And run my stick along the public railings

And make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

And pick flowers in other people’s gardens

And learn to spit.
You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat

And eat three pounds of sausages at a go

Or only bread and pickles for a week

And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry

And pay our rent and not swear in the street

And set a good example for the children.

We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?

So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised

When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

                                                                                -Jenny Joseph
Choose well, but know that you can take many paths to reach your goal.
 

4 Responses to “Don’t wait for the “right” time!”

  1. Ok, I so agree with this post. Don’t waste a moment of time, decide who the perfect you would be and start living into that image. Be the person you want to be, not the one everyone else says you should be or the one everybody else expects you to be, but the person you believe you could be.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    Your blog is looking better too.

  2. Jennette Marie Powell Says:

    Wait until you have time, and your dreams will never happen! At least writing is something we can carve out small chunks of time for – even as little as fifteen minutes – and eventually, we’ll have a book!

    I’m with you on the jeans/dresses, too. I don’t mind dressing up once in a while, but otherwise, I love my jeans! My daughter, OTOH, loves dresses and wears them even when no one else does. I love it! Have a great week, and keep going for your dreams!


Let me hear from you!!

