An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

ROW80 Check-In #2 April 8, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 4:22 pm

 This week was great! The fact that it was spring break at the schools gave me extra time to write and investigate information in order to meet my goals! I don’t expect every week to work like this, But I am grateful for the positive start to my first ROW80!

 

 

My life will be chaos for the next eight months or so, so I am going to set goals that I have some hope of accomplishing.

1. Write at least 1000 words per week on  WIPs

YAY! I nearly doubled that 1000 this week! Lotsa gravy!! Maybe hot fudge…. might be a better incentive….

2. Start a Twitter account

Goal met: 4/4/2012

3. Learn how to use Twitter, Facebook and my blog to at reach at least 10 new followers.

Okay, I have acquired new followers on my Twitter and Facebook and probably have more than 10 between the two, but I am actually meant blog followers and so far I have only gained a couple, so still in the works and moving forward on this one.  One step in the right direction, I got Kristen Lamb’s book We Are Not Alone, and I am making progress through that.

4. Post at least one blog that is not a ROW80 check-in

Did it!

5. Learn how to use wordpress so that I can do things like add the ROW80 badge to my sidebar, or locate a blogsite that I understand how to use.

Okay, made some progress here as you might notice by the new theme on my page and the fact that I have the ROW80 badge on my sidebar!!! Thank Pru for directing me to http://www.lairdsapir.com/2012/02/gettin-friendly-with-wordpress/ ! It was a huge help and I will be following the blog for new hints to try.

Hmmm. I am thinking it’s a good thing that I kept my actual writing goals down to a minimum. It looks like I may be spending quite a bit of the next couple of months just trying to reach some level of competency in platform building!!

Okay folks. A little less scared here. I think I can actually manage this list! It might be tough at times, but I really think I can swing it!

 

13 Responses to “ROW80 Check-In #2”

  1. KM Huber Says:

    You did have a great week! Good for you recognizing that not all weeks are like that. Kristen’s book is the best, really, and in addition to her book, I took a blogging class from her; however, everything I needed was in her book, although it might be a bit dated, the basics are solid. For Twitter, do download TweetDeck or HootSuite so Twitter is manageable. You are off to a great start! Oh, and I am following your blog.

    Karen

    • charismaloy Says:

      Thank you for the follow and right back atcha! I haven’t gotten to the Twitter section of Kristen’s book yet, but I will look into TweeDeck and HootSuite because, well YIKES! Twitter still confuses me! I will figure it out though, I am too stubborn not to!

      • KM Huber Says:

        As Kristen says, Twitter is useless without one of them. I have always used TweetDeck but others prefer HootSuite. There is also a FB page for ROW80 that you might want to join. Many people there have great suggestions for Twitter, blogging, and social media.

  2. Fabulous week!! We were on Spring Break too, however, I didn’t make any writing progress, LOL.

    Ref: Twitter
    I have TweetDeck which I love for scheduling tweets and live-time when I’m doing writing sprints, etc. But on a day to day basis I use the Twitter site to check my interactions, etc. And you can sync Twitter to Facebook so your tweets go to your FB stream…huge time saver. Good luck with the social media!! It can be a challenging thing to balance 🙂

    Wishing you all the best with the upcoming week.

  3. Hey there, I’m so glad you had a good week. You rocked it this time for sure. Congrats!

    • charismaloy Says:

      Thank you! I wanted to set goals that I could acheive. Now that I have essentially met the bare bones of my social media goals, I can refine and improve my skills!

  4. lwsapir Says:

    Hey! I am so glad my post helped you! Your site looks great! 🙂

    • charismaloy Says:

      Thanks! I am still following your blog in hopes of more hints!

      • lwsapir Says:

        I’ll try to write another hints article soon! Got any wp questions?

      • charismaloy Says:

        Tons!! I am so lost! I don’t know what most of the widgets are, I have been trying to get my gravatar to display on my page since I started…oy. I am one of those people who has to know what all the buttons do before she buys a new car, and here I jumped into something new and I am afraid to touch anything!

      • lwsapir Says:

        Don’t worry, I promise you can’t break anything. I PROMISE.
        Where do you want your gravatar to display? It shows up now next to your name in the comments. Do you want an image of yourself on the page? A good way to do that is to put it in a widget. 🙂 (I know, I know. Everything is in a widget) Alternately, you could look for a theme that has the author’s image. 🙂

  5. charismaloy Says:

    One problem that keeps cropping up, Some of my friends have difficulty posting comments since they don’t have a WP account. If they can’t log in with FB they can’t leave a comment. Any way to loosen up filters?


Let me hear from you!!

