An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

ROW80 Check-in #6 April 22, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 3:10 pm

On the go all week long. What down time I did have,  I was too tired to do the research that I need to do. I will try again next week. I am still managing to maintain a steady focus on my writing, and doing fairly well on these goals. I am very much hating the fact that I can’t spend more time on my WIPs, but anything I write while half asleep would just double my work later. It is the better part of wisdom that keeps my WIPs at a standstill at the moment.

My life will be chaos for the next eight months or so, so I am going to set goals that I have some hope of accomplishing.

1. Write at least 1000 words per week on  WIPs

Got absolutely nothing written on my WIPs. I have two going and both are at a standstill until I have the time to do some research. I did start a new one, a mini that I am posting on my blog in installments, and wrote 920 words on that in two installments. So I did get some writing done, just barely missed my word count goal, just not on my WIPs.

2. Start a Twitter account

Goal met: 4/4/2012

3. Learn how to use Twitter, Facebook and my blog to at reach at least 10 new followers.

I am counting followers to my blog since the start of ROW80. I have three new direct blog followers and 10 who access my blog via Twitter! YAY!!! That’s thirteen!!! And we are only two and a half weeks in!! I am still working my way through Kristen Lamb’s book We Are Not Alone. I did choose to go with HootSuite and have no clue what the site is supposed to do for me or how to use it, so any advice on how this platform works would be welcome. I still have to get my Twitter account linked to my phone.

4. Post at least one blog that is not a ROW80 check-in

I posted the second installment of my mini The Valkyrie and The Viking today, so that makes two for the week.

5. Learn how to use wordpress so that I can do things like add the ROW80 badge to my sidebar, or locate a blogsite that I understand how to use.

My site is steadily improving, and will probably continue to change it’s appearance throughout it’s lifetime. I need to figure out how to change the filters and such so that people don’t have so much trouble commenting on my blogs. I know WP blocks Pru just about every other post, and it’s getting annoying. I looked through all of the settings, and can’t for the life of me figure out what might be causing the problem. Although, I did figure out how to add catagories (and put stuff into said catagories) and tags! I also want to figure out how to link other blogs, like a click here and go to button on my sidebar. I have to get nosy.

Hmmm. I am thinking it’s a good thing that I kept my actual writing goals down to a minimum. It looks like I may be spending quite a bit of the next couple of months just trying to reach some level of competency in platform building!!

Okay folks. A little less scared here. I think I can actually manage this list! It might be tough at times, but I really think I can swing it!

 

Let me hear from you!!

