An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

ROW80 Check-in # 10 May 6, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 10:53 pm

A lot of work this week and little time to relax. I spent some time with my daydreams, which is always good inspiration. I also got to spend some time brainstorming with a friend, and from that I am much happier with the direction that one of my WIPs is moving in, plus I may have a solid idea for yet another book, so I still count it as a productive week. I will take my forward strides in whatever shape or size they come.

My life will be chaos for the next eight months or so, so I am going to set goals that I have some hope of accomplishing.

1. Write at least 1000 words per week on  WIPs

I did get 700 words done on my blog story though, so that sorta counts!! I didn’t get a chance to do any more writing this week. Well, that is not entirely true, I did some editing and added about a paragraph to each of my WIPs.

2. Start a Twitter account

Goal met: 4/4/2012

3. Learn how to use Twitter, Facebook and my blog to at reach at least 10 new followers.

I am counting followers to my blog since the start of ROW80. I have three new direct blog followers and 10 who access my blog via Twitter! I also know of one more who is following my blog through my facebook links! That makes fourteen! Still working on the Twitter angle.

4. Post at least one blog that is not a ROW80 check-in

I posted the third segment of The Valkyrie and The Viking Tuesday

5. Learn how to use wordpress so that I can do things like add the ROW80 badge to my sidebar, or locate a blogsite that I understand how to use.

My site is steadily improving, and will probably continue to change it’s appearance throughout it’s lifetime. I need to figure out how to change the filters and such so that people don’t have so much trouble commenting on my blogs. I also want to figure out how to link other blogs, like a click here and go to button on my sidebar. Perhaps I will get a chance to get nosy in the next few days, but no promises, I have soooo much I want to get written that my blog page may get put on the back burner for a little bit.

Hmmm. I am thinking it’s a good thing that I kept my actual writing goals down to a minimum. It looks like I may be spending quite a bit of the next couple of months just trying to reach some level of competency in platform building!!

Okay folks. A little less scared here. I think I can actually manage this list! It might be tough at times, but I really think I can swing it!

How did you do? Any wonderful surprises?

 

7 Responses to “ROW80 Check-in # 10”

  1. mrsbongle Says:

    Well done on your progress!

  2. prudencemacleod Says:

    Hey there, you’re doing great. You can do it, yes you can!

  3. KM Huber Says:

    Seems you are moving right along, and good for you. Aren’t brainstorming sessions just the best? Have a great week.
    Karen

    • charismaloy Says:

      Brainstorming sessions are, in fact, great! But they happen at the oddest times. It’s really hard to shut the brain down after a 1am brainstorming session when you know the child is going to wake you up in a few short hours!!

  4. Shah Wharton Says:

    For followers/likes in many social networks try https://www.facebook.com/groups/authorkarma/ – They have all sorts and works in a you like/follow me, I follow you kind of way. You add you name to a list and everyone follows – you click on all of those on the list and give back. Simple. I’m in a few of them – I should really get on the liking back. The lists are long so its time consuming. But there’s no time restriction which is cool. Plus, it gets your blog/face book page/etc out there. Also, Triberr is enormously beneficial in getting you Twitter followers and sharing your RSS feed (blog posts). Social networking and platform building is a slow process, so don’t feel the need to rush it. Try different things and see what suits you. 🙂

    Well done on your progress this week. PS: Looked at the two samples from your friend – good stuff. Let me know when she’s up and running. I have hired a cover designer for this book and potentially two more, but I review books and know a lot of indies who could do with a cheaper alternative to pricey professionals. This would help them and she can steadily gain a name for herself. 🙂


Let me hear from you!!

