An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

ROW80 Check-in #11 May 9, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 8:44 pm

 

If you had the occasion to catch my last post, you know that this week started out on a low note. I spent yesterday recovering from Monday, and today… I played.  

My life will be chaos for the next eight months or so, so I am going to set goals that I have some hope of accomplishing.

1. Write at least 1000 words per week on  WIPs

I did write. I wrote a tribute on my blog for my friend after his funeral. Then I spent a day writing up a fantasy of mine. It may one day on the distant future end up in a book. No promises. After the funeral, that bit of writing was exactly what I needed.  No promises for the rest of the week. If I don’t pull out the mower tomorrow, I can’t water the lawn and if I don’t water the lawn, I will get a politely scolding letter from the park manager. So it looks like tomorrow is yard work day. Hmmm will have to get up before noon…..    Then of course, I get to wrangle Freshman science students all day Friday. Holding out hope for Saturday though!

2. Start a Twitter account

Goal met: 4/4/2012

3. Learn how to use Twitter, Facebook and my blog to at reach at least 10 new followers.

My blog on Monday netted me another three followers, bringing my total to 17 at current count.  Still working on the Twitter angle.

4. Post at least one blog that is not a ROW80 check-in

Done

5. Learn how to use wordpress so that I can do things like add the ROW80 badge to my sidebar, or locate a blogsite that I understand how to use.

My site is steadily improving, and will probably continue to change it’s appearance throughout it’s lifetime. I need to figure out how to change the filters and such so that people don’t have so much trouble commenting on my blogs. I also want to figure out how to link other blogs, like a click here and go to button on my sidebar. Perhaps I will get a chance to get nosy in the next few days, but no promises, I have soooo much I want to get written that my blog page may get put on the back burner for a little bit.

Hmmm. I am thinking it’s a good thing that I kept my actual writing goals down to a minimum. It looks like I may be spending quite a bit of the next couple of months just trying to reach some level of competency in platform building!!

Okay folks. A little less scared here. I think I can actually manage this list! It might be tough at times, but I really think I can swing it!

How did you do? Any wonderful surprises?

 

4 Responses to “ROW80 Check-in #11”

  1. lwsapir Says:

    your site is looking great, Charis! 🙂

    • charismaloy Says:

      Thanks Laird! Now if I could just make sure that ANYBODY can post a comment or follow me, without jumping through hoops, I would be a lot happier.

  2. prudencemacleod Says:

    Looks like you’re getting the hang of this, Girl. Well done!


Let me hear from you!!

