An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Free at last, free at last, thank God Almighty, I’m free at last!! June 17, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 12:06 pm

I mentioned not too overly long ago that the world was weighing heavily on me. This has had a serious effect on my writing. Mostly in that I have done none. You see, I firmly believe that if you have nothing good to say, you should keep your bottom lip firmly attached to your top lip. I may rant at the wrongs of the world, I may share my grief with you, but I will never belittle anyone or share dirty laundry. Unfortunately, that’s all I have had the energy to do for the last several weeks, this is why I have been absent from you for so long. Suffice it to say that, for the last year I have struggled under the weight of an immense burden that was never mine to carry. I have felt as though I were hogtied and dragged behind a team of runaway horses. For the last several weeks, I have been sawing at the ties that bound me to this burden and have finally freed myself. I may still have moments or days of silence as I lick my wounds and heal my badly bruised spirit, but the time of injury has passed and I can now, finally, begin to heal.

Fortunately for ROW80, writing has always been healing for me. I look forward to the next round and anticipate being much better rested and able to accomplish more. I have even lost track of how much longer we have in this round.

My life will be chaos for the next eight months or so, so I am going to set goals that I have some hope of accomplishing.

1. Write at least 1000 words per week on  WIPs

I worked on a short piece for my collection.

2. Start a Twitter account

Goal met: 4/4/2012

3. Learn how to use Twitter, Facebook and my blog to at reach at least 10 new followers.

No further progress here

4. Post at least one blog that is not a ROW80 check-in

nope

5. Learn how to use wordpress so that I can do things like add the ROW80 badge to my sidebar, or locate a blogsite that I understand how to use.

Other than updating the photos and links for the Prudence MacLeod’s new release Shelly’s Turn, and Meghan O’Brian’s upcoming The Night Off, I have not touched my blog page.

We are in the homeward stretch, and I accomplished more than I thought I would in some areas, and less in others.

How did you do? Any wonderful surprises?

 

2 Responses to “Free at last, free at last, thank God Almighty, I’m free at last!!”

  1. prudencemacleod Says:

    Wow, what awesome news. I know what must have happened for you and I rejoice with you in yourt new found freedom. May it bring you untold blessings.


Let me hear from you!!

