An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Final Checkin Round 2!! June 20, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 8:16 pm

 I am pleased with myself this round. Many things did not go as I had hoped, and life interfered more than I had anticipated. However, I feel that I came out ahead. I am no longer anticipating chaos for the next several months, as I have shed that burden.  I fell behind on my original WIP’s and on my blog story as they all require me to be awake enough to plan out the next 50K words. However, I have been working on some very short, (1-4) page stories that are easier for my overly tired brain to track. I sent a couple of these out to my beta readers and the vote was unanimous that I should continue the short stories while I pull my life back into order. This way, I will not lose myself in the novels until I truly have the time to devote myself. Also, by doing so, I can quite possibly publish a collection of these short stories by the time the month is out. This would get my name out there, let folks test my writing style, and make me a little bit of money.  I can deal with this.

So, how did I do this round?

My life will be chaos for the next eight months or so, so I am going to set goals that I have some hope of accomplishing.

I fixed this!!!

1. Write at least 1000 words per week on  WIPs

I finished a short at  2500 words this week, but completely missed several weeks. I also had numerous weeks that consisted of no writing, but much needed research. I think I will adapt this goal with research in mind for the next round

2. Start a Twitter account

Goal met: 4/4/2012  

Still need to figure out how to use it effectively. As my body recouperates itself, I will get back to reading We Are Not Alone. I hated to put it down, especially since Kristen is a great writer, but it was just too much for my over worked brain to process.

3. Learn how to use Twitter, Facebook and my blog to at reach at least 10 new followers.

Reached my goal, but no idea how. Yup, see the previous answer.

4. Post at least one blog that is not a ROW80 check-in

Although I missed posting blogs, I am proud of the fact that I did not use this page to spew the hurt, anger, and frustration that I have been feeling for some time now. That would have been the bigger fail.

5. Learn how to use wordpress so that I can do things like add the ROW80 badge to my sidebar, or locate a blogsite that I understand how to use.

I am getting better with WordPress, and I honestly think that any blogsite will be constantly evolving thing. I am pleased with the things I have learned, and have determined that if I get seriously stuck, I will just yell for Laird. So far, I have heard a lot of pros and cons on everybodies site, so I am sticking with the devil I sort of know. This may change when I go for a domain name, but at the moment, that is a long way off.

I accomplished more than I thought I would in some areas, and less in others. I have learned a lot about what I can and cannot handle, and have a plan for next round. I would say I definitely came out ahead.

How did you do? Any wonderful surprises?

 

2 Responses to “Final Checkin Round 2!!”

  1. prudencemacleod Says:

    Well, dear friend, I’d say you can call this round a winner. You have made great progress and I look forward to the delights your pen will provide in the next round.


Let me hear from you!!

