An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Ya’ take the good, Ya’ take the bad, ya take ’em both and then ya have… July 14, 2012

Filed under: Getting to know me — charismaloy @ 2:19 am

Boy was today ever a mixture of ups and downs!! Okay, lemme back up a bit. The week has gone incredibly well, my job is one of those menial things that makes little difference in the world around me, but it pays the bills and the bosses respect me. I worked for them before and in the past few days, both of them have told me (repeatedly) how good it is to have me back. Even though we all know that my position there is quite temporary, it is really nice to be appreciated. The only down side is that I spend a great deal of time standing on cement floors in truly crappy shoes. Let’s be honest, we buy shoes at Walmart because we are broke, not because they are anything wonderful. The one pair of shoes that I have that could hold up to my long hours does not match my uniform. Ah well, no worries. All will right itself in due time.

So, I had a good week at work. I find myself with a three day weekend and planned to devote one full day to housework, and one to each of the two jobs here at the house that I have been neglecting. (I have been having WAAAAYYYY too much fun with the one that I have been working) Anyhow, I tried to get into the files that I need to access for one of the other jobs, only to find out that I am unable to access them. I have to do some checking, but this may mean that I no longer have that job.  In a way that sucks because I do like doing the work, but at the same time, it will never in this lifetime be a job that I will get paid for. What little compensation I was getting has already been discontinued. So, that freed up one of my days.

My brother in law and my niece- 2 weeks old

My brother in law and niece – 2 months

This afternoon, my friend asked me to join her and her daughter (my goddaughter) for dinner. Oh joy, Oh thrills, I didn’t have to cook or do dishes!! Just as I was getting ready to leave the house to meet them, my sister called and asked if I would run to Walmart for her so that she didn’t have to pack up my 11 month old neice. All 25 pounds and roughly the same in inches. This little cutie is not at all fat, she’s just a big girl. As you can see by the pictures, she really grew a lot in her first two months. Her mommy did not want to have to pack baby into the car and into Walmart in 90 degree plus temperatures for one lousy item. So, Auntie went, and was well rewarded. My sister met me outside to get her one little item, and this little angel smiled, waved, and squeeled when she saw me. She thinks her Auntie is pretty much nuts (did I mention she’s very smart?) and her glee at seeing me took away my frustration at idiot Walmartians.

Yes, my friends, this was quite nearly a rant about inconsiderate people parking in the firelane, nearly causing accidents and being there for long enough for me to find a parking spot, go in, find the item my sister needed, pay for it, get back to my car (IN A FRONT ROW PARKING SPOT!!!) and maneuver my way BACK past them and out of the parking lot. Yup, I was seriously hot under the collar. Ya’ll have seen me rant. You missed that because this little person just makes me feel good. She is always so excited to see me.

Then I got to go to dinner and get a huge hug from my goddaughter, who didn’t know I was coming. It was so cute, we told her that if she finished the meat portion of her meal then she didn’t have to finish the french fries and she could have a hot fudge sundae. The little minx finished her meat, ate half of her sundae and looked at me with only a few bites left of my dinner. She looked at me and held up her ice cream, saying “if you eat yours all gone, you could have this ice cream I saved for you”. Yeah, whatever mad I had left at the Walmartians, evaporated.

My day was full of small blessings that were so very big. I hope yours was too.

 

 

2 Responses to “Ya’ take the good, Ya’ take the bad, ya take ’em both and then ya have…”

  1. prudencemacleod Says:

    It is the small blessings that make up an extraordinary life. Seems like you have two very special small blessings right at hand. May this day be blessed for you as well. 🙂

  2. mrsbongle Says:

    What a lovely post! Glad you had a good day!


Let me hear from you!!

