An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

ROWing through the sharks and octopi. July 22, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 5:38 pm

This week began quite well, I got well started on a new project for one of my at home jobs, and I have a really good feeling about this one I think it will be quite well recieved when it is finished. I have been trying REALLY hard to follow some good advice found here: http://www.prudencemacleod.com/2012/03/avoid-drama.html and have been feeling really good about my progress. Then Thursday happened, which led into Friday’s drama and then into yesterday’s drama. So far I have had a break today, but I think that is only because everyone is catching their breath and I am fully prepared for more drama come Monday morning.

I won’t go into the details of the drama, but suffice it to say, I am a minnow in this clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9A-oxUMAy8. Ignore the goofy narrator’s and think about the force of the water kicked up. I have tried to avoid both shark and octopus, but unfortunately, both seem intent to draw me into the churning water and somewhere in the middle a shrieking eel has popped into the mix… I am desperately trying to hold onto the small sanctuary I have, but as the waters get rougher, I find that I am looking for a new tank altogether.

On top of that chaos, would you believe my swamp cooler went out on me?? Wonderful timing. The pump was completely burned up and needed replaced. My cats were looking at me like “Mom, dying here, its 98 degrees in this place” So, I started investigating. Everyone keeps telling me not to worry, swamp cooler pumps are easy to replace, just unplug the old one and drop in the new one. Uh-huh. I felt like Robert Redford in Sneakers ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0105435/ ) right about the time he’s holding lock tumbler diagrams in one hand a lockpicking kit in the other and comes up on a keypad lock!

You got it. The fool pump was hardwired in. So, I raced to the ranch supply store and approached the door as the guy was locking it. I very nearly wept. The guy opened the door and, finding that I knew what I needed and he knew exactly where it was, let me in. Thank goodness I can still play the damsel in distress to some degree. I got the new pump home, fought and cursed and finally held my mouth just right and got the old pump out. Then I had to not electrocute myself in the attempted rewiring. My friend stood by ready to call 911 if I fouled it up. Hmm, next time I think I will take the phone out of my pocket so it doesn’t get fried and somebody can actually make that call. However, the call was unnecessary. Thanks to a semi photographic memory, I got the wiring right. Then I went to mount the pump.

I swear this cooler was really working on my remaining nerve. Frequent hugs from a little bitty thing who likes to tell me how great I am really kept me going. I set the pump in, anchored it (zip ties are a wonderous thing) and went to attach the hose. Which was two inches too short… GRRRR.  Back to the store I go. I found some RV hose and hose clamps. Okay, so I would have to cut off the end of the hose and then cut the length that I needed, but the elusive swamp cooler parts store is on sabbatical, and the inside of the hose looked to be the right size. As I cut the hose, I heard a small voice, full of confidence in me, say “I think you are gonna get lucky with that”

Ah, the faith of a child. I did in fact get lucky with that and she giggled with “I told you so’s” and “My Yaya can fix everything’s” I went into the house, plugged the fool thing in and heard glorious water flowing through the bats. It’ll be a couple of days before my furniture loses its stored heat, but I am loving the fact that nobody ever told me that I couldn’t do it because I am a girl. That’s why that little girl thinks I can do anything, because she has, in her short life, watched me repair cars, build furniture, fix doors, replumb my house, make the computer work right, and now she has seen me rewire a swamp cooler. Heaven help the day when she realizes that I am no super hero, I just read a book.. or twenty.

See, I found it. In all the shark fighting, octopus grabbing, eel shrieking tumultousness, I found the piece of this week that I will remember in a month, in a year, in ten. I will still seek a less troublesome tank, but I will hold to that little confident voice that said “I think you are gonna get lucky with that.” The rest, I will allow to fall away.

Round 3 Goals

1. Devote a minimum of one hour each weekday to bona fide work on each of the three at home jobs. This does not include FB, Blogging, Tweeting or other internet perusal, but may include improvements made to blog sites.

I devoted a large part of the beginning of this week to job number one. I was literally sitting down to work on job number two (it’s still pulled up on the other computer) when the chaos of the last few days began. In the middle of that chaos I have surrendered job number three. So, this is still hitting about 50/50.

2. Finish Fantasies this round. If CM approves it, get it published.

Haven’t touched it. I opened it, but that’s as far as I got.

3. Spend at least 20 minutes each weekday on housework and at least 2 hours on Saturday.

Four hours of fighting with the swamp cooler on Saturday makes up for the rest!!

4. Start eating more than one meal a day. Consistantly.

Check… well, for the most part.  I still miss a day here and there. Especially on days I don’t have to go to work.

Hmmm… Structure….. this could be interesting……

 

2 Responses to “ROWing through the sharks and octopi.”

  1. prudencemacleod Says:

    Tough times don’t last, girl, tough people do. I think you got lucky with that. 🙂


Let me hear from you!!

