An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Celebrating Talent August 7, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 1:29 am

ImageAnyone who has read this blog over the past few weeks has probably come to the conclusion that I am going through changes in my life that can bring me to some truly low points. You would be right in that conclusion. It has been a daily job to find something to celebrate and something to look forward to. Today, I thought I would share with you some things that bring a smile to my face.

Purple Raven Boutique (see link in the top of the right-hand margin)

Image.

Aren’t these COOL? I love the complimentary colors!

.

The Purple Raven Boutique is an Etsy store for handmade jewelry, owned by a dear, talented friend. She loves working with thread, wire and knots and look at all these bright, pretty colors. Hee hee hee!!

.

I get all kinds of excited just hearing that she has been in the studio creating stuff, I love to see what comes out of her imagination! OH!! Musn’t forget to show you these two necklaces that came out of her studio recently.

Image.

.

.

.

Aren’t these elegant? This is a talented and creative artist. I am proud to call her a friend and I look forward to seeing her become a well known, must-have artist.

Image.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Miss Katherine, celebrating you and your lovely talent is a joy!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I have been fortunate to have had the opportunity to spend much of my life in the presence of a very talented photographer. She taught me a great deal about life, about family, and most definitely, about photography. I am only posting a couple of her pictures here.

The rest, you can veiw here http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/3418040?utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&utm_campaign=bookstore-share#author-bookshelf.

So far, she has three books out and they all feature pictures of wonderful, hard working ranchers that I have had the honor of calling my friends.

Here are a few samples.

.

ImageThese three bum calves were so cute!!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Of course, the good mama cows get a little frustrated when they can’t find baby.

.

Image.

It’s a fast paced job at times.

.

Image.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Kids learn horsemanship before they get out of diapers here. Calf wrestling doesn’t wait long after

This little gal was third generation on site that day. Her mother pulled the calf in to her and her grandfather was out sorting.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 Even if all you want to do is look at some really cool pictures of ranching folks in action, be sure and checkout her books. Trust me, some of the pictures will make you say “Awwwww,” while others will make you spew coffee all over your screen. Hey, you were warned. I know the backlog of incredible shots that this woman has. She is bound to put out more books.

She does use a digital camera, but none of her pictures are photo-shopped. While some may be cropped, or had the pixels sharpened, she does nothing to her raw pictures that couldn’t be done in the dark room that she grew up in. This is pure, simple, talent and an incredible eye.

Vikki, I celebrate with you, and I hope one day to walk into a room on the other side of the world and see your picture books on somebodies coffee table!

.

.

.

Now, as for my ROW80 checkin.

Image

Round 3 Goals

1. Devote a minimum of one hour each weekday to bona fide work on each of the three both at-home jobs. This does not include FB, Blogging, Tweeting or other internet perusal, but may include improvements made to blog sites.

I have been inordinately successful at job number one. The drama of the last few weeks has me very much out of the mood to work on the other, but since the first pays in a more immediate fashion, I have simply doubled my time on it until things settle.

2. Finish Fantasies this round. If CM approves it, get it published.

Hmmm. Would it help if I told you that this is tied heavily into job #2?

3. Spend at least 20 minutes each weekday on housework and at least 2 hours on Saturday.

Sorted through stuff, in an effort to not end up on Hoarders. So far, I think I am safe…. Also got the lawn mowed. That is a major thing as I have to fight the heat, the mosquitoes, the wasps and a sweet little garden snake that moved in two summers ago. I try my hardest not to splice the snake. So the 20 minutes a day and 2 hours on Saturday may be a little TOO regimented for me. I am actually getting more done when I just start in one spot and then have to look at it’s sparkling clean-ness next to the atrocity that is it’s neighbor. My OCD kicks in and about 8 hours later I quit. This is why I hate housework. I can’t just do a little bit….

4. Start eating more than one meal a day. Consistantly.

Massive fail.  I can tell that this is going to be an ongoing struggle.

Hmmm… Structure….. this could be interesting……

 

12 Responses to “Celebrating Talent”

  1. prudencemacleod Says:

    Wow! Some awesome pics of the work of some very talented artists. Love the wirework.

  2. Eden Says:

    So much eye (and mind) candy here to celebrate! Thanks for the heads up on some wonderful artists, Charis. And so glad to know I’m not the only one who is having a certain amount of difficulty with the cleaning and OCD.

  3. Beautiful jewelry and great goals. I need to get things organized and get back on track now that school has started.

  4. Just dropping by from Susie’s party. I love to see people celebrating the small things – and especially sharing their friends’ talents! I just saw the ROW 80 challenge over at Fabio’s site…I need to investigate further – love your goals! Very pleased to meet you!

  5. susielindau Says:

    Loved this and your promotions: the jewelry and the photos. Very nice!
    Thanks for coming by!
    I hope you click on a few links and say hello!

  6. Stacy Green Says:

    Dropping in late from Susie’s party. That jewelry is fabulous, and I love your goals. Keep it up!


Let me hear from you!!

