An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Changing perspective August 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — charismaloy @ 3:36 am

This week was…. interesting.

Wednesday, my car tried to eat me. It reminded me of the NCIS episode that featured Abby going head to head with a killer SUV. I got in the car and drove to Walmart to pick up some meds before work. I hadn’t left myself much time as I only needed to run in and back out again, then go across the street to work. When I went to open the door, there was no tension. The door was not going to open from the inside. I know what you’re thinking. Open the window, reach out for the outside handle and life is good, right? That was my first thought too. One problem. My window is off track and doesn’t go down. I was able to flag down a gentleman in the parking lot who opened my door. That’s when I noticed that the OUTSIDE handle gave up the ghost with that last use.

Okay, so mechanical me quickly loosened the door panel and looked inside the door. The three bars that connect to the latch were hanging free inside the door. Cripes, just what I needed. I couldn’t afford to not have my meds, and I really couldn’t afford to miss work for a problem that I couldn’t fix in the Walmart parking lot. So, I decided to cowboy up. I secured the door panel at the window lip and closed the door.

In the intervening days, I have nearly perfected the slide over the center console so that I don’t look like a beached whale at the apex. In the last couple of days, I have done a lot of research and it looks like I can fix this thing in about half an hour’s worth of work. I discovered that this is actually NOT an uncommon problem with this model and there are numerous “how to fix it” videos online. This means, I won’t be going to the cost of replacing the whole door or paying some shop $80 an hour for them to put in a $5 plastic clip. YAY me!! Also, if I am really lucky, a bit creative and terribly logical, I might even be able to fix the window! So, a few more days of climbing over the console and I will pick up the clip on payday. 

I was seriously stressing the cost of fixing this problem, but changing my question from “How can I afford to get this fixed?” to “How can I fix this affordably?” I have managed to leave that stress behind. Plus, I get to learn more about how to fix stuff. That’s also fun.

As you may have noticed in my last post, I decided to celebrate creativity this week. It was a smart move on my part as it motivated me to get back to my own creations. 

 

Image

Round 3 Goals

1. Devote a minimum of one hour each weekday to bona fide work on each of the three both at-home jobs. This does not include FB, Blogging, Tweeting or other internet perusal, but may include improvements made to blog sites.

I have been inordinately successful at job number one, but needed a bit of a break. Job number two got a lot of attention this week, I even got to spend several hours working on the timeline for one of my WIPs from last round that kind of fell by the wayside in all of the drama of the last months.

2. Finish Fantasies this round. If CM approves it, get it published.

Spent several hours working on the next section of this, and am quite pleased with the direction it is headed.

3. Spend at least 20 minutes each weekday on housework and at least 2 hours on Saturday. Get SOMETHING accomplished in the direction of household maintenance each week.

I got laundry washed while I was playing with my timeline, got books hauled down to the bookstore for trade, and stacked dishes for washing while the little one is napping after church tomorrow. If I have any energy after she goes home to her mother, I hope to go through my closet and thin it out.

4. Start eating more than one meal a day. Consistantly.

I do okay with this on the days that I work, and I worked five days this week so I did okay. Remembering to eat something more than popcorn when I am working is a bit of a trick on my days off. I get too wrapped up to remember to cook. That’s the OCD kicking in again…

Hmmm… Structure….. this could be interesting……

 

8 Responses to “Changing perspective”

  1. Oh gods, I love this. If you don’t like the answers you’re getting, ask yourself a different question. Love it, and congrats on the goals too. Awesome!

  2. So glad you can get your car sorted cheaply with a bit of creative thinking. Any time you can save money is always a bonus. Sounds like you’re keeping on track with your goals; good work 🙂

  3. Gotta love your creative problem-solving! And what a wonderful perspective too, with a big dose of positive thinking. Glad it all came together for you!

  4. Denise Hisey Says:

    You go girl!! Love your get-er-done attitude!
    🙂

    • charismaloy Says:

      Why thank you! When it comes to a choice between settle or find a way to improve it, I’ll always find a way to improve. It only looks like I am wallowing, in reality, I am plotting and planning. Hee hee hee!!


Let me hear from you!!

