An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Farewell to Round 3! September 20, 2012

Filed under: ROW80 — charismaloy @ 12:12 am

This round has been very much an experiment at trying to play catch up, rework my daily routine and attempt to fly simultaneously…

There was major, intense, hide from the world drama at the beginning of this round that, well… the drama has faded but it is like a damped fire and I live my life prepared for the flames to burn out of control again. Does this mean that I live in fear? Not a bit. It just means that I spend quite a bit of time making sure that my fire extinguishers are full and that I have flame proof attire. Unfortunately, the mentality that is involved in being prepared for that kind of drama is not conducive to writing romances.

Work has picked up, which is wonderful for my pocketbook, but leaves me tired, again, not conducive to writing. It is, however, rather conducive to prewriting, which for me, means visiting with my characters and hearing their stories. On top of the menial position, my alter ego has started a business that takes up any spare time I have. If I can get the alter ego to the point where that business will pay my bills, then I can quit the menial job and have more time to write. In the meantime, when I get the chance, I jot down key points in my stories on the walls in my hallway. Don’t worry, I put up butcher block sheets. 🙂

Okay, so where did I get with my goals and what did I learn?

Image

Round 3 Goals

1. Devote a minimum of one hour each weekday to bona fide work on each of the three both at-home jobs. This does not include FB, Blogging, Tweeting or other internet perusal, but may include improvements made to blog sites.

Okay, have this down to the alter ego’s job and writing. If I have time to drink more than two cups of coffee, then I am able to work on one or the other every day. The last couple of weeks, I haven’t had time for more than two cups of coffee, so I kinda slacked off. Also, I think that I will include Blogging as bona fide work, at least when I am creating new posts for either blog since the posts that I do get up do take time away from the other work that I would be doing, and the blogs are a necessary part of both the writing and the alter ego’s job.

2. Finish Fantasies this round. If CM approves it, get it published.

This is really something that comes to me in bits and spurts. I very much want to get it done, but when I try to force it, the quality is depressingly awful. Technically this is being placed on the back burner as it will no longer be on my goals list, but as it is always on my mind, the change is only on paper. I will place it back on my goals list when I am close enough that it needs only formatting and editing.

3. Spend at least 20 minutes each weekday on housework and at least 2 hours on Saturday. Get SOMETHING accomplished in the direction of household maintenance each week.

I learned that there is no way to combat my OCD when it comes to housework. I will either focus on the housework and ignore everything else, or I will accomplish other things and ignore the housework. I have been unable to find a middle ground with this.

4. Start eating more than one meal a day. Consistantly.

I suspect that this will be an unending battle as I have spent far too long simply not bothering to eat. No eating disorders to worry about, my friends, simply disinterest. I am improving. My body is beginning to tell me that it is hungry before 10 pm, so I am beginning to see more and more days that I am eating two meals a day. Ideally, I would like to get to the point of eating at least three meals a day, but my system hasn’t handled it’s nourishment spread out like that in a great many years. I am going to keep this goal through the next round as I seem to be making headway, and it’s nice to have at least one goal that I can honestly say I am making headway on. I do have to say though, I may not get frequent meals, but when I do eat, I do it right!

Grilled pork steak, tomato and cucumber fresh from a friends garden for dinner and then applesauce with frozen mixed berries  and semi-sweet chocolate chips for dessert.

Actually, my dessert was kinda funny.  By the time I got to it, the berries had thawed and all of their juices had turned the applesauce bright red. When I mixed it all together, it was wonderful, but all I could think of was Kristin Lamb and her zombies! Oh, and the chilled monkey brains from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. The look on Short Round’s face was classic when he said “I’m not gonna eat that!”

Okay folks, see you next round!

Hmmm… Structure….. this could be interesting…… (this structure thing is not working…)

 

7 Responses to “Farewell to Round 3!”

  1. Shah Wharton Says:

    I really stuffed up this round, but when life takes over, it cannot be helped. We must feel good about our successes and move on to the next round with more relistic (at least, I do) goals. Structure isn’t a natural thing for me – I enjoy the structure of those around me, but find it difficutl to instigate or follow my own atempts at structure… good luck and see you round 4 (wow – rond 4 already!) X

    • charismaloy Says:

      It really is about getting to know ourselves and what works best for us isn’t it, Shah? I follow other peoples schedules easily enough, but left to my own devices…. All things tend toward entropy… Need to make a list of complete-able goals for next round… something that has a definite completion, like cleaning out the shed or getting the yard ready for winter…. See you in the next round!!

  2. Hey there, don’t be too hard on yourself, you survived this round and made some progress. Celebrate that and gear up for the next round. All in all, considering the drama factor earlier on, you’ve done well. Funny how drama can suck the life out of you. I far rather read about it in a book than live through it myself.
    Hang in there, girl. We’re all cheering for you!

    • charismaloy Says:

      I did make progress in a great many areas. Not all the ones I wanted to, but that is okay. At least it seems that the riptide that has had me in it’s grip is finally releasing me. I am headed in to shore, this race ain’t over yet!

  3. Shah Wharton Says:

    I do apologise – I am clearly puppy frazzled! Look at my text — all over the place 😦

    • charismaloy Says:

      I figured that was due to a new writing supervisor in training Shah. It’ll be a while before he is content to let you do anything that doesn’t directly involve him, which means when you do get some time to do anything you’re left… Puppy-frazzled 🙂

  4. It’s hard to make writing progress when “life stuff” is kicking you in the booty. So it sounds like you did well to make as much progress as you did – and you learned something about what works and doesn’t work for you. That’s always a plus! See you in the next round!


Let me hear from you!!

