An American Highlander

Travels Through My Mind

Beautiful day! October 2, 2012

Filed under: Getting to know me — charismaloy @ 11:06 pm

I really think I could do this day again and again. I started out with coffee and a visit with my sister. Okay, so I was out of creamer and the coffee was only mediocre, but visiting with my sister puts a smile on my face in nearly any mood. I got some work done on the Alter Ego’s job and for once it did not leave me pulling my hair out.

I got to work to find that the energy drainers weren’t scheduled to work and that the manager was. This was way cool. I love my manager to death, she directs the team without showing frustration and she really does show her appreciation. I swear the only reason I put up with the energy drainers is because working with the boss is so fun.

I was just getting ready for the dinner rush when one of my favorite huggers came in with her husband and parents. Already my good day was getting better. She and her family sat down and I looked out the door to see my sister and her husband heading in with my niece.

 

 

Really now, how can that little face NOT make you grin?

I barely got their order taken when we got slammed with a busload of teens. This is not usually a good thing. I have worked in food service for years and learned long ago that busloads of teens mean big messes, rude kids and lots of shouting. I was stunned. The kids were all respectful, spoke quietly to each other and didn’t leave so much as a mark from their cup to clean up. As the last one headed out the door, I asked their chaperone to convey my gratitude for their excellent manners.

I walked through to check on my customers and my niece grinned and tried to share her lettuce with me. I think she was somewhat offended that I didn’t take it…. I do love that little smile… Then I stole a quick hug from my friend as I cleared up my dining room.  I got more happy grins from my niece as they were leaving and another big hug from my friend as she was leaving.

To top it all off, my favorite eye candy walked in the door a little while later!!! Oh, happy day!!

It really is the small things in life that make it worth the living. Warm hugs and happy smiles on a face that is excited to see you, and all you have to do for either one is exist. That made my day perfect.

I hope that your day was exceptional as well.

 

 

8 Responses to “Beautiful day!”

  1. prudencemacleod Says:

    Hey Sis, that sounds like a perfect day. I hope the rest of the week is the same for you. 🙂

  2. That does sound like a great day, perfect to share with Susie and all the party goers!

  3. susielindau Says:

    Isn’t that the truth. It is the little things. Your niece is darling!
    Thanks for coming by! I hope you enjoy clicking on a few links and “meeting” the guests!


Let me hear from you!!

